May 1 : Indian Catholic Youth Movement (ICYM) Bejai Unit organised 'Tug of War and Lagori Tournament' - An interparish deanery level event which was held on the 30th of April 2023 at St Francis Xavier Church, Bejai at 10:30 AM.

The Interparish deanery level competition was only applicable to the Episcopal City Deanery- ECD Above the Age group of 16 years.

The dignitaries for the inaugural program were Rev Dr JB Saldanha - Parish Priest of St Francis Xavier Church Bejai, Rev Fr Suraj Lobo - Assistant Parish Priest of St Francis Xavier Church Bejai, Rev Fr Vincent Sequeira, Mr Winston Sequeira - Vice President of ICYM Mangalore Diocese, Miss Sonali Rodrigues - President of ECD, Mr Ashok Pinto - Vice President of Parish Pastoral Council Bejai, Animators - Mr Wilson Lobo, Mr Rohan Sequeira and Mrs Preethi Gomes, Miss Carol Santhumayor - President of Bejai Unit, Miss Alisha Lincy Rego - Secretary of Bejai Unit and Miss Vanessa Lobo - Sports Secretary of Bejai Unit. The referees for the tournament were Mr Karthik, Mr Vinyas and Mr Shivanna.

The event started off with the ICYM members leading the gathering into a prayer song. Miss Carol Santhumayor welcomed all present for the event. Rev Dr JB Saldanha gave the message for the day.

The inauguration of Tug Of War took place with the tying of ribbon at the centre of the rope by Rev Fr Vincent Sequeira. The inauguration of Lagori took place with the dignitaries playing lagori by aiming at the lagori stones placed in front of them.

There were two categories for each event : Tug of War and Lagori, both for Men's and Women's above 16 years of age. The referees explained all the points distribution and the rules which needed to be followed by all participants before the commencement of that particular event.

The Tug Of War event took place in the St Francis Xavier Kannada Medium School Grounds in the morning and the Lagori event took place in the Lourdes Central School Grounds in the afternoon.

All the participants performed their best and tried to make their team win. A total of 5 parishes participated in this interparish event: Bejai, Bendur, Cascia, Jeppu and Valencia. The event went on smoothly with the cooperation of all the participants. Mr Alwyn Crasta - Member of ICYM Bejai did commentary for this event. ICYM members Mr Joywin Pinto, Mr Vion Lloyd Lobo, Miss Arel D'Souza and Miss Alma Mascarenhas entertained the gathering by playing music. Mr Joywin Pinto and Mr Vion Lloyd Lobo captured the moments throughout this event and all other ICYM members helped in the volunteering. The Event went on smoothly with the Cooperation of all the ICYM Bejai Members, Director and Assistant Director, Animators and mainly because of the Participants from Different Parishes of ECD.

The valedictory program began with the giving of a token of gratitude to the referees of the event by Rev Dr JB Saldanha. The prize distribution ceremony was conducted by ICYM Secretary Miss Alisha Lincy Rego. The Lady Vice President Miss Shiny Lewis proposed the Vote of Thanks. The MC for this event was the Cultural Secretary Miss Jenvisha D'costa. The event came to an end with a hymn followed by a short baila.


1st Place: Team Jeppu.
2nd Place: Team Bejai.
1st Place: Team Bejai.
2nd Place: Team Bendur.

1st Place: Team Jeppu.
2nd Place: Team Valencia.
1st Place: Team Cascia.
2nd Place: Team Bendur.

Comments powered by CComment

Home | About | News | Sitemap | Contact

Copyright ©2013 Powered by eCreators

Contact Us

Rev Fr Ashwin Lohith Cardoza
Yuvajyothi, Olivet House 
Jeppu, Mangaluru - 575002
Phone: +91 824 2415217, 2415218
Mobile: +91 8277937787